Archaeopteryx Examined  

Media Installation

 

Archaeopteryx Examined

Media Installation

The Archaeopteryx intrigues us. The 150 million-year-old ‘Urvogel’, as it is referred to in German, of which only a dozen fossil specimen have been found, continues to advance our understanding of primeval life and evolution. The paleontological exhibition at the Bürgermeister Müller Museum in Solnhofen is the only one in the world to showcase several of the rare Archaeopteryx fossils permanently.

A media station was developed for the newly designed permanent exhibition of the museum that places the Archaeopteryx fossils in context and virtually brings the ‘Urvogel’back to life. The core of the installation is the skeleton model of an Archaeopteryx in twice its natural size. Using two vertical touchscreens that are pivoted around the skeleton model along a circular track, media images can be superimposed onto the Archaeopteryx and examined: the image displayed on the screens in real time positionally maps onto the exhibit and includes virtual hotspots that draw attention to the bird’s special anatomical features. The plumage of the Archaeopteryx can be interactively superimposed onto the image of the skeleton: visitors can look at and examine the many details of the virtual living animal from all positions within the pivoting radius of the screen. In addition to the imaging level that allows visitors to see through the exhibit, monitors display various other aspects of scientific research and findings about the ‘Urvogel’.

The media station is in the icon room of the Bürgermeister Müller Museum, where the exhibition’s precious highlights are showcased. Given the immediate spatial proximity to the Archaeopteryx exhibits, a modest design was selected for the media station and the screens. This allows the focus of perception to be on the precious fossils and supports the special aura that emanates from them.

Client

BGM Museum Solnhofen

Location

Solnhofen

Year

2014

Archaeopteryx durchleuchtet  

Medieninstallation

 

Archaeopteryx durchleuchtet

Medieninstallation

Der Archaeopteryx fasziniert. Der 150 Millionen Jahre alte Urvogel, von dem nur ein Dutzend fossile Exemplare gefunden wurden, befördert bis heute das Verständnis von urzeitlichem Leben und Evolution. Die paläontologische Ausstellung des Solnhofener Bürgermeister-Müller-Museums ist die weltweit einzige, in der sich dauerhaft mehrere der seltenen Archaeopteryx-Fossilien befinden.

Für die neugestaltete Dauerausstellung des Museums wurde eine Medienstation entwickelt, die die Archaeopteryx-Fossilien inhaltlich einordnet und den Urvogel virtuell zum Leben erweckt. Im Zentrum der Installation befindet sich das Skelettmodell eines Archaeopteryx in zweifacher Vergrößerung. Mit zwei Touchscreens im Hochformat, die entlang einer Kreisbahn um das Skelettmodell geschwenkt werden, kann der Archaeopteryx medial überlagert und durchleuchtet werden: Das auf den Screens in Echtzeit und positionsgetreu dargestellte Bild ist mit virtuellen Hotspots angereichert, die auf anatomische Besonderheiten aufmerksam machen. Das Federkleid des Urvogels wird interaktiv über die Skelettdarstellung geblendet: Besucher können die zahlreichen Details des virtuellen Lebendtieres von allen Positionen im Schwenkradius der Screens betrachten und untersuchen. Zusätzlich zur Durchleuchtebene wird auf den Monitoren durch Themenaspekte der wissenschaftlichen Erforschung des Urvogels und ihren Erkenntnissen geführt.

Die Medienstation befindet sich im Ikonenraum des Bürgermeister-Müller-Museums, in dem die wertvollen Höhepunkte der Ausstellung präsentiert werden. Mit Blick auf die unmittelbare räumliche Nachbarschaft zu den Exponaten des Archaeopteryx wurde eine zurückhaltende formale Gestaltung für die Medienstation und ein dezentes Screendesign gewählt, um den Fokus der Wahrnehmung auf den fossilen Preziosen zu belassen und ihre auratische Wirkung zu unterstützen.

Auftraggeber

BGM Museum Solnhofen

Ort

Solnhofen

Jahr

2014

Leistungen

Medienproduktion

Medientechnische Planung